Reviews

  • October 12, 2016

    Museums Outstanding in their Fields

    The Royal Saskatchewan has the fascinating dioramas, but for sheer awe-inspiring content and really thorough interpretation, the Royal Tyrrell Museum, in the badlands north of Drumheller, Alberta, is a top contender for any museum fan’s bucket list.
    Content Type(s): Blog Subject(s): Reviews
  • September 29, 2016

    Royal Canadian Numismatic Association

    By: David Bergeron


    The 63rd annual convention of the Royal Canadian Numismatic Association (RCNA)—Canada’s money collector show—was held in Ottawa from 20-24 July 2016.
    Content Type(s): Blog Subject(s): Reviews
  • July 25, 2016

    Canadian Museums Association National Conference 2016

    By: Graham Iddon


    The second chapter of the author’s experiences at the 2016 CMA conference wherein he listens to speeches, learns about other people’s mistakes, eats more seafood and gets a lesson in Maritime weather.
    Content Type(s): Blog Subject(s): Reviews
  • July 14, 2016

    Canadian Museums Association National Conference 2016

    By: Graham Iddon


    The first day of the conference was for full and half-day workshops. I was up dull and early that rainy morning, swallowed a breakfast sandwich at Timmie’s, consulted my program guide and headed to my first seminar.
    Content Type(s): Blog Subject(s): Reviews
  • May 31, 2016

    The Photography Show 2016

    I once called up a former colleague, a photographer who had been retired for a few years. I asked him how he was getting on. He said, “Pretty good and still learning photography.”
    Content Type(s): Blog Subject(s): Reviews
  • April 27, 2016

    Virtual Reality?

    By: Graham Iddon


    The history of technology is littered with the smoking wreckage of inventions that were ahead of their time or had otherwise jumped the gun on some supporting aspect of their design. Until recently, VR had been one such invention.
    Content Type(s): Blog Subject(s): Reviews
  • February 1, 2016

    The Gopher Hole Museum

    By: Graham Iddon


    Though packed with carefully prepared specimens, this is not a natural history museum. No, this is a social history museum housing 47 dioramas featuring 77 stuffed gophers.
    Content Type(s): Blog Subject(s): Reviews
  • January 19, 2016

    Emergency Response and Salvage Workshop

    By: Patricia Measures


    Although we already have a disaster plan for the National Currency Collection, Ms. McCraith offered some great resource information and suggested ways to update and improve our plan.
    Content Type(s): Blog Subject(s): Reviews
  • January 6, 2016

    The Digitization Discussion Group

    Have you ever scanned or taken a digital picture of an old document or photo to make a safe copy or to send it to a friend or colleague? You probably have, which means you have taken on a small digitization project.
    Content Type(s): Blog Subject(s): Reviews